Taylor Hawkins "drums up a storm" on upcoming Iggy Pop album, 'Every Loser'

Taylor Hawkins is posthumously featured on Iggy Pop's upcoming album Every Loser. Speaking with NME, the Godfather of Punk shares what it was like to work with the late Foo Fighters drummer.

"Taylor came in with incredible style," Pop shares. "I'm very fortunate to have that color on the record."

Hawkins contributes to two Every Loser songs: "Comments" and "The Regency."

"He drums up a storm on those tracks, and you can really hear it," Pop says of Hawkins' contributions to the record. "He has this sort of bubbling quality, it's really percolating."

Pop adds that he was "really sad and shocked" when he heard about Hawkins' unexpected death earlier this year.

"The whole thing was something else," Pop says. "He did have a wonderful career doing what he wanted to do, and by all accounts, a good life."

Every Loser is due out January 6. The album, produced by Andrew Watt, also features Red Hot Chili Peppers drummer Chad Smith, Guns N' Roses bassist Duff McKagan, Blink-182's Travis Barker, Jane's Addiction's Dave Navarro and Eric Avery, Pearl Jam guitarist Stone Gossard and ex-RHCP guitarist Josh Klinghoffer.

Comments on this article
On Air103.3 The Eagle - Tulsa's ONLY Classic Rock Logo
The Eagle Insider Newsletter

mobile apps

Everything you love about 1033theeagle.com and more! Tap on any of the buttons below to download our app.

amazon alexa

Enable our Skill today to listen live at home on your Alexa Devices!